top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMiss Rae

Checklist: Your Child's "Short" Attention Span




As adults, we tend to complain or become bothered by the short attention span of children. These are common responses from parents and early childhood educators. I'm guilty of this as well, it's truly an unlearning process but I'm getting there.


I've come up with a short checklist to make myself present in those moments and thought I would share.


Is this developmentally appropriate? - All children learn at different speeds. It's best to get to know a child or allow them to take the lead with an activity while you observe. Taking some time, in the beginning, will give you better insight into what they're ready for.


Are my expectations too high? - If you're anything like me, you may have a little “genius” at home that learned how to add 3 digit numbers in 10-minutes but still doesn't tie his shoes. I know that children are these incredible little sponges but they somehow find a way to remind us that they're only children. I've had to learn to lower my expectations and I'm most times surprised at how much he was able to get done.


Did we stop and let the wiggles out? - My 7-year-old needs about five 5-minute wiggle breaks in a 1-hour time block. Be sure you're giving them plenty of wiggle time.


“I've tried it all, nothing is working, and I think I'm going crazy.” - Once I've run through my checklist and my kiddo still isn't present with me, I scratch the plan for the rest of the day. I have my good and bad days, as well as my son. Children are allowed to be over it for the day and we shouldn’t judge them.

173 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page